South Dakota State earns No. 1 overall seed in FCS football playoffs

The 24-team field for the FCS playoffs was announced Sunday with South Dakota State taking the No. 1 overall seed. The other seven national seeds are Montana, South Dakota, Idaho, Albany, Montana State, Furman and Villanova.

The first round games will be played Saturday:

Gardner-Webb vs. Mercer

Duquesne vs. Youngstown State

Nicholls State vs. Southern Illinois

North Carolina Central vs. Richmond

Lafayette vs. Delaware

Chattanooga vs. Austin Peay

Sacramento State vs. North Dakota

Drake vs. North Dakota State

The second round will be played Dec. 2:

Gardner-Webb-Mercer winner vs. South Dakota State

Duquesne-Youngstown State winner vs. Villanova

Nicholls State-Southern Illinois winner vs. Idaho

North Carolina Central-Richmond winner vs. UAlbany

Lafayette-Delaware winner vs. Montana

Chattanooga-Austin Peay winner vs. Furman

Sacramento State-North Dakota winner vs. South Dakota

Drake-North Dakota State winner vs. Montana State

The quarterfinals will be played Dec. 8-9, followed by the semifinals Dec. 15-16, and the national championship game will be played Jan. 7.

(Photo: Bailey Hillesheim / Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top