Max Verstappen wins Mexico GP, breaking his record for most wins in single F1 season

MEXICO CITY — Max Verstappen won the Mexico City Grand Prix, breaking his own record for the most victories in a single season with his 16th victory. Here’s what you need to know:

  • Red Bull teammate and hometown hero Sergio Pérez took a risk heading into Turn 1 while trying to secure the lead after a strong start. But he and Charles Leclerc touched, sending the Red Bull into the air and off the track. Pérez was forced to retire but would take the risk again.
  • Kevin Magnussen triggered a red flag when he suffered a heavy crash. Flames came from the brakes of the VF-23, but Haas confirmed Magnussen is OK.
  • Both Aston Martins failed to finish. Fernando Alonso suffered damage from debris, and Lance Stroll headed to the pits on lap 68.

Provisional race results

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  5. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  6. George Russell (Mercedes)
  7. Daniel Ricciardo (AlphaTauri)
  8. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
  9. Alex Albon (Williams)
  10. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  11. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)
  12. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
  13. Nico Hülkenberg (Haas)
  14. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  15. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
  16. Logan Sargeant (Williams)
  17. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  18. DNF — Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
  19. DNF — Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
  20. DNF — Sergio Pérez (Red Bull)

Required reading

(Photo: Jared C. Tilton / Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top