Max Verstappen makes history at Italian Grand Prix, wins 10th consecutive race

Max Verstappen made Formula 1 history on Sunday when he won the Italian Grand Prix, marking his 10th consecutive race victory. Here’s what you need to know:

  • Only 19 cars actually started the race after a 20-minute delay. Yuki Tsunoda reported a failure during the first formation lap, coming to a stop on the side of the track. They went for an extra formation lap, but the race start was aborted while they tried to recover Tsunoda’s car.
  • Carlos Sainz and Verstappen battled all the way until lap 15 when the Ferrari driver locked up, a small but costly mistake. The Dutchman seized the moment and got alongside Sainz through Curva Grande, eventually snagging the lead.
  • The final podium position came down to the two Ferrari drivers, who battled it out in the final laps of the race. The two swapped positions numerous times as they fought for P3.

Provisional race results

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Sergio Pérez (Red Bull)
  3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  4. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  5. George Russell (Mercedes)
  6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  7. Alex Albon (Williams)
  8. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  9. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
  10. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  11. Liam Lawson (AlphaTauri)
  12. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
  13. Logan Sargeant (Williams)
  14. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
  15. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)
  16. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  17. Nico Hülkenberg (Haas)
  18. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

DNF — Esteban Ocon
DNS — Yuki Tsunoda

Required reading

(Photo: Ryan Pierse / Getty Images)

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top