2023 Tata Harrier and Safari SUV Facelifts nominated for crash testing by Bharat NCAP

Tata Motors recently pulled the covers off its new flagship SUV duo – the Harrier and Safari facelifts in India. Both of the models have gained a considerable amount of popularity in the country in a very short span of time. On further advancement on these new models, it has been reported that the company has nominated the Harrier and Safari facelifts for the newly launched Bharat New Car Assessment Program (BNCAP) crash tests. At the moment, the Safari and Harrier do not have any official crash test ratings despite being out since 2021 and 2019, respectively.

According to Car and Bike, Tata Motors has already sent the vehicles to Bharat NCAP facilities for crash testing. It has been reported that both the Harrier facelift and the Safari facelift are part of the first 30 cars nominated by the Indian manufacturers for the new Bharat NCAP crash tests. At the moment, whether the crash tests for Harrier and Safari have been finished or not has not been reported. Neither have any rankings been published by the carmaker or the Bharat NCAP.

Tata Harrier and Safari facelift safety features

2023 Tata Harrier and Safari SUV Facelifts nominated for crash testing by Bharat NCAP

The Tata Harrier and the Safari facelifts are both built on the OMEGARC architecture, which has been created with help from the Land Rover’s D8 Platform. Both SUVs come equipped with a ton of safety features, which include 7 airbags, of which 6 come standard. They also come equipped with the coveted Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) with 11 features. The list of these features includes adaptive cruise control with stop & go function (AT only), autonomous emergency braking, including pedestrian & cycle, forward collision warning, rear collision warning, rear cross-traffic alert, blind spot detection, traffic sign recognition, door open alert, lane departure warning, lane change alert, and high beam assist.

2023 Tata Harrier and Safari SUV Facelifts nominated for crash testing by Bharat NCAP

Apart from these, the SUV duo also gets an Electronic Stability Program with 17 capabilities, 3-point seatbelts for all occupants with reminders, and ISOFIX restraints. Additionally, they also offer connected safety features like emergency (E-Call) and breakdown call (B-Call) assistance. Other safety and convenience features offered by Tata Motors include a 360-degree surround-view system with blind-spot monitoring, front parking sensors, tire pressure monitoring, cornering front fog lamps, and a rear-view camera.

Bharat NCAP

2023 Tata Harrier and Safari SUV Facelifts nominated for crash testing by Bharat NCAP

As for the Bharat NCAP, the Government of India recently introduced the highly anticipated crash test ratings for cars available in the Indian market. BNCAP has been launched to improve car safety in India by increasing the safety standards of vehicles weighing up to 3.5 tonnes.

Under this newly launched program, all the cars will be awarded a star rating for Adult Occupants (AOP) and Child Occupants (COP) based on their performance in tests conducted in accordance with the new program. Car customers can simply refer to these star ratings to compare the safety standards of different car models and make their purchase decisions.

Under the new program, car manufacturers and importers will have to submit an application form 70-A to the agency designated by the government. The test will assess the safety of the car through the front impact, side impact test, and side impact pole test.


Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top